Oliver Twist

Written by Charles Dickens
Adapted by Anya Reiss
Directed for Actonians by Sue Anstey


This play (not musical) follows the original story of Victorian London’s most famous orphan. It was written by Charles Dickens and has been adapted for stage by Anya Reiss. The play was originally staged outdoors at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre and it has been written to allow doubling up of characters.

Anya Reiss' impressive adaptation fillets the story very effectively, condensing swathes of plot into neat scenes that propel Oliver's adventures forward... an action-packed, thrilling show.' WhatsOnStage ★★★★


Oliver Twist Alex Thomas
The Governors of the workhouse
Jean Capstick
Jenny McDowell
Nick Pearce
Mr Bumble Rob Pardoe
Mr Sowerberry: the undertaker Stewart White
Mrs Corney Nic Harvey
Mrs Sowerberry Rebekah Grose
Agnes Sarah Godsell
Elliott Case
Rachel Taylor
Fagin Nick Sharp
Bookseller Christine Rogers
Nancy Michelle Pawley
Mr Fang: a magistrate Steve Anstey
Mr Grimwig: Brownlow's friend Nick Pearce
Monks Di Pardoe
Mr Brownlow Mike Schofield
Mrs Maylie: a kind wealthy older woman Jean Capstick
Bill Sikes Richard Pawley
Rose Maylie: Agnes' sister Sarah Godsell
Charlotte: Sowerberry's maid Fern Flynn
Maylie's Housekeeper Jenny McDowell
Policeman/Guard Elliott Case
Noah Claypole: Sowerberry's apprentice Haydn Todd
Charley/Bullseye: A pickpocket/Sikes' dog
Theo Foote
Dylan Thomas
Jack Dawkins: The Artful Dodger Bertie Woodward
Browlow's Maid Gaynor Clark
Mr Gamfield: A chimney sweep Godfrey Laundy
Stranger Stewart White
Den Denizens: Wed. and Fri.
Abigail Hatherell
Cara Anthony
Evie Todd
Joe Taylor
Mia Parsons
Sophie Blanch
Sophie Taylor
Theo Foote
Den Denizens: Thurs. and Sat.
Abigail Hatherell
Ben Webber
Claudia Curtis
Dylan Thomas
Isla Broadberry
Joseph Grubb
Rosie Webber
Rosie Wright
Rachel Taylor
Gemma Perrett
Assistant Director and Stage Manager Sarah McMahon
Assistant Stage Manager Alison Horner
Prompt Di Roper-Marshall
Stage Design
Maureen Blake
Sue Anstey
Sound Peter Carlin
Lights Mark Whitehouse
Ann Aplin
Isabel Campbell
Jenny Millward
Joan Flowers
June Schofield
Pat Stimpson
Alison Horner
Bar Manager Steve Anstey
Bar Team
Andy Fisher
Godfrey Laundy
Margaret Bulmer
Matthew Godsell
Richard Stanway
Val Laundy
Front of House Manager Dee Mason
Box Office Debby Ashton
Construction Steve Anstey
Puppet Makers
Sue Anstey
Philippa Hepworth
Front of House Team
Ann Aplin
Barrie Wright
Jenny Millward
Rona Wright
Photography Ray Bulmer